Hannover-L Nachrichtensammlung, Band 42, Eintrag 18

Liebe Listers,
      Forgive me for writing this in Englisch. It is forty years, since I studied German. I can read and understand it, but I hesitate to write it. At the present time I am trying to help a Family with the research on their ancestor, Henry Area. He came to the United States before 1841. After his arrival he settled in Henderson, Knox County, Illinois. We plan to search all the records for this county. My reason for posting to this list is that he was born in the province of Hannover in 1813. His first name was definitely Heinrich/Henrich, but what do you think that his surname might have been. I am wondering, if he translated the surname Area directly from a German word for that word.
      Thank you for any suggestions.
  Karla Nurnberg

Hi Karla:

Don't feel bad, this is a bilingual list, but there are some English only, German only, and German-English writers. Occasionally, I see French and Spanish. There are a lot of helpful members who will help you regardless of your language status.

You state: "I am wondering, if he translated the surname Area directly from a German word for that word."

It is possible, but probably not unless the German word for Area sounded similar, and I don't think it is. For an instance, my Becker's became Baker's. The translation, and the sounds being almost the same.

However, I do not know of any Schneider's who became Tailor's.

I believe your best bet is a sound alike word.

Remember, there are no absolutes in names. If my name is Peter and I spell it Joe, my name is still Peter. I know this is a far reaching example, but I did it for emphases.

Gale

Have you considered surnames such as Arens or Ahrens?

I can find your Henry as early as 1850 in USA census records but the name there is already listed as Area. Same in 1870 when he and his family are in Pottawatomie, Kansas.